[Skip to content]

Enter search here...

About us

NHS South Worcestershire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) is formed of 31 member GP practices across South Worcestershire and is the organisation responsible for arranging health services on behalf of local patients

Specifically this means we are responsible for:

  • Planning health services, based on assessing local needs
  • Paying for services that meet the needs of our patients (also known as ‘commissioning’)
  • Monitoring the quality of the services and care provided to our patients.  

We hold a budget of £326 million to commission hospital, community and mental health services for a population of just over 292,000 patients. We are the largest of the three CCGs in Worcestershire, encompassing 31 member GP practices across Droitwich, Evesham, Malvern, Pershore, Tenbury and Worcester. 

Our constitution and scheme of delegation sets out the arrangements made by NHS South Worcestershire Clinical Commissioning Group to meet its responsibilities for commissioning care for the people for whom it is responsible.

We were authorised without any conditions placed on us by the NHS Commissioning Board on 23 January 2013 as part of the second wave of CCG authorisations across the country and took over commissioning responsibilities from Worcestershire Primary Care NHS Trust on 1 April 2013. 

Local providers 

We commission services from a number of NHS and non-NHS providers. The main local providers of secondary services are: